ANC Limpopo delegates sang ‘Unity’ as Lekganyane voted into ‘3rd term’ dominated PEC


By Thabo Monyela

POLOKWANE- Scores of ANC Limpopo delegates burst into ‘unity’ song and praise as the former provincial secretary Soviet Lekganyane voted into the Provincial Executive Committee (PEC) as an additional member number 26 with 323 votes at the party’ provincial conference at The Ranch hotel on Sunday, June 05.

In the build up towards the hotly contested provincial conference, Lekganyane was a contender for the provincial secretary position from an anti-3rd term slate, who together with his slate-leader Dickson Masemola lost with tremendous margins against Stan Mathabatha and Ruben Madadzhe for the position of chairperson and secretary.

Lekganyane is the only one from the Masemola slate whom the delegates showed confidence in his leadership.

Another notable figures who made it into the PEC additional members, is the MEC of health Dr Phopi Ramathuba, former MEC of CoGHSTA Makoma Makhurupetse, MEC for Social development Nkakareng Rakgoale, MEC Thabo Mokone, Minister of Communications and Digital Technologies Khumbudzo Ntshavheni.

ANC Limpopo saluting the delegates after the election.

Names which didn’t make it to the PEC list, that might face an axe from the Limpopo Provincial Executive Council, include that of MEC for Public Works, roads and infrastructure, Masemola, MEC for Sports Arst and Culture Thandi Moraka, MEC for treasury Sekoati, MEC for Agriculture and rural development Ndalane and MEC for Education Polly Boshielo.

During the media brief on Saturday after his re-election as a provincial chair, Mathabatha emphasised that he won’t be reshuffling his executive based on based on conference outcomes.

“You can’t reshuffle a person because they contested you, the reshuffle will be based on each department’s review “he said.

He further said he and Masemola remain friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *